Who We Are

Seeking New Board Members!

We are looking for interested individuals to join our ethics review board. Candidates must have research experience at the post-masters or doctoral level, be willing to attend monthly meetings, complete ethics reviews and participate in ongoing training and sub-committee activities. Individuals with a background in immigration, justice, or children/youth as well as experience with non-for-profit organizations are encouraged to apply. People with lived experiences of marginalization and oppression would also be asset. Please send a resume and letter of interest to creo@communitybasedresearch.ca


The Community Research Ethics Board (CREB) has 9 members:

Theron Kramer (Co-chair), Laura Mastronardi (Co-chair), Eva Dabrowska Miciula, Paul Davock, Ryan Huckle, Doug Rankin, Katelyn Godin, Kristin Brown, and Daniela Seskar-Hencic.


Community Research Ethics Board Profiles

Theron Kramer
Affiliations: Community Research Ethics Board, Compass Kitchener Advisory Committee to Kitchener City Council, WLU Research Ethics Board, Immigration Partnership Council

Laura Mastronardi
B.A. Honours Psychology (Queen’s University); BSW, MSW (McGill University School of Social Work), Ph.D. (in progress) (McGill University Faculty of Education)
Affiliations: Wilfrid Laurier Graduate Faculty Council, Departmental Divisional Council, Aboriginal Field of Study Program Management Committee

Eva Dabrowska Miciula
Ph.D. Geography (Wilfrid Laurier University)
Affiliations: Manager of Research Support Services with the Faculty of Extension (University of Alberta)

Paul Davock
M.A. Community Psychology (Wilfrid Laurier University)
Affiliations: Community Advocates for Sexually Abused Males, Sexual Assault Response Team

Ryan Huckle
M.A. Philosophy (University of Waterloo)
Affiliations:  PAC Program & Research Assistant at Conestoga College

Doug Rankin
Affiliations: Community Health Worker, Kitchener Downtown Community Health Centre

Katelyn Godin
Ph.D. Student (University of Waterloo)
Affiliations: School of Public Health & Health systems; Canadian Obesity Network – Students & New professionals (University of Waterloo chapter)

Kristin Brown
Ph.D. Candidate (University of Waterloo)
Affiliations: School of Public Health and Health Systems

Daniela Seskar-Hencic

Sarah Cahill
Ph.D. Candidate (University of Guelph)
Affiliations: Research Assistant at University of Guelph

Christy Landry
Ph.D. Philosophy; MSW (Wilfrid Laurier University)
Affiliations: Department of Philosophy at Wilfrid Laurier University

Amanda Jenkins
Ph.D. Candidate (University of Guelph)
Affiliations: College of Social & Applied Human Sciences, Discourse Science and Publics Research Group, Community Engaged Scholarship Institute

Past Board Members:
Joanna Ochocka, Elizabeth Rigotti, Sweta Banerjee, Ayesha Umme-Jihad, and Elizabeth Vainionpaa